We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $1 USD  or more



For immediate release
August 14, 2019


AUSTIN, Texas – Eight 30 Records will release The Messenger: A Tribute to Ray Wylie Hubbard digitally on August 28! The superlative new collection features performances by a who's who of Americana music including Rodney Crowell (“In Times of Cold”), Bobby Bare (“Snake Farm”), Charlie Musselwhite (“Resurrection”), Tom Russell (“Dust of the Chase”), James McMurtry (“The Messenger”), Terri Hendrix (“Without Love”), Jonathan Tyler (“Wanna Rock N Roll”) and more. “We're so proud of this record says Jenni Finlay, who co-produced the record with label co-owner Brian T. Atkinson. “We are so excited to celebrate one of our very favorite songwriters and humans alive today.” Additionally, James McMurtry and his band served as the “house band” on several key tracks on the album (scheduled for a physical release later this fall).

The album serves as a companion to Atkinson's new book The Messenger: The Songwriting Legacy of Ray Wylie Hubbard recently released through Texas A&M University Press. “You know, I've never thought about my songwriting legacy,” Hubbard admits. “I guess I've written some pretty cool songs that nobody else seems to be writing. As guess as far as legacy, I hope it's that I wrote some cool, badass songs. Some sold and some didn't. Most didn't.” The Messenger features forewords by Jerry Jeff Walker and Hayes Carll and marks Atkinson's third book for TAMU Press after I'll Be Here in the Morning: The Songwriting Legacy of Townes Van Zandt (2012) and Kent Finlay, Dreamer: The Musical Legacy Behind Cheatham Street Warehouse (2016), co-written with Jenni Finlay.

“Ray Wylie Hubbard has been overlooked in the conversation about great Texas songwriters for far too long,” Atkinson says. “He shouldn't be passed by. As several dozen songwriters within these pages proclaim, Hubbard has created a catalogue over the past four deades deserving mention among monumental tunesmiths such as Guy Clark, Steve Earle, Lightnin' Hopkins, Kris Kristofferson, Mickey Newbury, Billy Joe Shaver and Townes Van Zandt.” All the songwriters on the tribute – including Texans Slaid Cleaves, Scott H. Biram, The Band of Heathens, Ray Benson, Walt Wilkins, Radney Foster, Shinyribs, Chris Fullerton and others – effortlessly back the claim.

The Messenger: A Tribute to Ray Wylie Hubbard track list:

James McMurtry • The Messenger
The Band of Heathens •Drunken Poets Dream
Ray Benson • Easy Money Down in Texas
Charlie Musselwhite • Resurrection
Bobby Bare • Snake Farm
Radney Foster • Screw You, We're from Texas
Tom Russell • Dust of the Chase
Tim Easton • Conversation with the Devil
Scott Biram • Chickens
Slaid Cleaves • The Sun Also Rises
Walt Wilkins • Wishbones
Shinyribs • Whoop and Hollar
Rod Picott • Portales
Jon Dee Graham • Mother Blues
Terri Hendrix • Without Love
Chris Fullerton (feat. Slaid Cleaves) • Stone Blind Horses
Jonathan Tyler • Wanna Rock and Roll
Rodney Crowell • In Times of Cold

Produced by Jenni Finlay and Brian T. Atkinson
Mastered by Fred Remmert in Austin, Texas
Mixed by Chris Fullerton at El Pres Recording, Austin, Texas except where noted online
All tracks engineered by Russell Tanner at Barefoot Studio, Austin, Texas except where noted online
All credits at www.eight30records.com
Sound recordings copyright Eight 30 Records

For more information about The Messenger: A Tribute to Ray Wylie Hubbard, please contact
Brian T. Atkinson, Eight 30 Records • (512) 621-9468 • btamojonet@aol.com


from The Messenger: A Tribute to Ray Wylie Hubbard, released August 15, 2019


all rights reserved



Eight 30 Records Austin, Texas

contact / help

Contact Eight 30 Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this track or account